Skillful project management is one of these things that you start to value only when you realize what things are like without it. Usually, this realization comes in the painful form of things getting tangled up so tightly within a project, that you don’t know whether there is even a chance to even save it. This is even more the case when it comes to translation project management – the plurality of files and repositories can make anyone just a tiny bit dizzy. That’s why keeping your workspace and workflow clean is essential.
Sometimes, keeping it this way requires deleting one or two projects, too. Not so long ago, this option was still in the sphere of ideas, considering its complex nature. However, as advocates of customization and complete user independence when it comes to project maintenance, we decided that we would introduce this option at Text United. Ladies and gentlemen, continue reading this article to find out how to delete a translation project!
How To Delete a Translation Project?
As you can imagine, project deletion was highly a requested feature at Text United, largely because many users wanted to maintain a clean workspace. It’s still not always possible to simply throw away the whole project – the project may sometimes involve other users, invoices and translation progress. However, our developers have enabled an internal project to be deleted or archived.
To delete a translation project simply open the project details page (by clicking on the project name in the list of translation projects) and scroll down to the bottom of the page. Depending on the type and state of a translation project, you will be able to delete or archive it.
How Will Deleting a Translation Project Impact the Translation Management System?
Don’t worry – if you delete a completed translation project, the content is already saved – either to a standalone file or within a translation memory. In this case, deleting the project will have no impact on the translation memory because the translated content is saved separately. Translation Memory includes all completed projects that have been translated by you and your team.
When it comes to individual or standalone translation memories, these may be safely deleted manually using the Text United desktop app. The exact same rule applies to terminology. If the translators entered translations for terms in the glossary, these will be saved to your account’s default terminology database after the project is completed. However, individual terms can be managed using the Company Dictionary tool, where the company administrator or project manager can approve, reject or delete terms individually.
Allow Some Time For Technicalities
As we mentioned above, the fact that we have launched an option to delete a translation project doesn’t mean that you can throw one away in an instant. In fact, some projects cannot be deleted or they can only be partially deleted or more accurately, archived.
Get acquainted with the list below:
Projects that will be archived instead of deleted:
● Internal projects where the Project Creator is not the only team member of the project
Projects that cannot be deleted:
● Archived projects
● Projects that are on hold (Being edited by a Project Manager)
● Projects outsourced to Text United if the project is in-progress
● Project outsourced to Text United if the project is completed
Are You Ready to Keep Your Workflow Clean?